Golden Nuggets

Dad and Loretta

My Dad and his sister, Loretta.

A couple weeks ago I had the opportunity to do something I’ve dreamed of doing for a long time. I videoed my dad talking about his childhood, his parents, sister, & grandparents, and his military service.

My parents visited for a week in early July, which allowed us the time to do this fun project.

What did I learn about my dad? I learned that he would love to back to Italy where he served in the USAF in 1963. I learned about his first car and his first job.

Next time we get to have an extended visit, I’ll video my mom telling her story growing up with 6 brothers and a sister. I hope to have the video edited, with still photos and music added soon. I will edit the two projects into one video as a way for generations to come to know their roots.

What I see as the golden nugget in this project is that their grandchildren and great-grandchildren will have this video and get to hear them telling the stories. They’ll know their voices, their mannerisms, their humor, and their desires for the grands to have a blessed life.

I want to encourage you to talk to your parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, or whoever might still have stories and information about your early family. Ask them questions. Ask them to explain their answers. Record that history for the next generations of your family.

 

 

About D. Jodi Shumway

Wife, Mom, Daughter, Sister, Grandmother, Friend, Writer, Editor, Reader, CHRISTIAN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

