Be Still and Know

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” Psalm 46:10

All too often I try to work things out on my own. Small things! Big things! Huge things! WHY? Because I’m human and, unfortunately, that’s what us humans do best.

I know Ps 46:10, and I have quoted it many times. But recently, I’ve experienced it. I’ve always been a doer. I’m the person that you called if you wanted something done. I usually jump into a project with both feet, not even knowing how deep the water is. I see opportunity and ability in just about everything.

There is a quaint little saying that goes “Don’t just sit there, Do Something”. But in Psalm 46, God tells us to do just the opposite “Don’t just Do Something, Sit There”. God wants us, His children, to sit still and calmly, patiently wait on Him to speak to us.

Recently, I have had to put on the brakes for “Doing”. I am intent on “Being Still” and waiting on the Lord. I know that His plan is perfect and mine is not. I know that when I’m impatient, His plan is always on time. I know that when I WANT something so badly my heart hurts, He gives me what I NEED to carry me through.

I thank God for His word that encourages, reprimands, & instructs.

 

About D. Jodi Shumway

Wife, Mom, Daughter, Sister, Grandmother, Friend, Writer, Editor, Reader, CHRISTIAN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

